SecurityForBikes.com
Ethical Engineering from Pragmasis

Buy Online

 

Your Cart

Shopping cart  Shopping cart
0 Product(s) in cart
Total £0.00
»  Checkout
 

Shed Shackle

Shipping and COVID-19 Restrictions: We are unable to ship to any locations outside mainland UK at present, due to the Customs issues caused by Brexit. We are also unable to accept any visitors into our building due to COVID restrictions. *No exceptions**
Please see our News page for more details.

Shed Shackle Reviews for the product - Shed Shackle (Back to product)
 
141 Product Reviews - Average rating 5 / 5 (Best Rated | Worst Rated | Most Recent | Oldest)
Top quality, easy to fit
- 05/03/2015
Fitted the shackle in just a couple of hours, my shed was a little thin so I added a couple of extra sections of wood. The bolt lengths were spot on. Had a bit of trouble with the shear nuts, but persuaded them off with a chisel and a hammer.
Peace of mind
- 25/02/2015
Great, sturdy bit of kit. Combined with a security chain and closed shackle lock its a pretty hefty deterrent
Effective security solution for valuable bikes.
- 25/01/2015
I have now fitted 2 of the shed shackles. I recently had some bikes stolen from my shed. My best bike which was chained to the Shed Shackle was left untouched; I think that says it all!! A great solution to give peace of mind; very easily fitted, comes with excellent instructions; all round great services. Thanks.
Top design
- 02/01/2015
Arrived very quickly. Extremely robust design which enables me to lock my two road bikes using both a sturdy chain and D lock. Planning to buy a second for my mountain bike.
Excellent shackle and locks
- 13/12/2014
Superb products and service. E-mail responses to my questions were prompt and informative. The shackle arrived quickly and was really easy to fit. Will definitely recommend to others.
Superb kit - Buy it!
- 03/12/2014
Firstly I'd like to thank David for his customer service who offered plenty of advice and responded to e-mails quickly.
We needed something to secure our 5 road bikes after a recent spate of thefts in our area. After much research we finally found the answer - the shed shackle.
We decided to go for the shed shackle bundle package include the shackle, 3M protector chain and squire padlock. The package arrived within 2 days. The kit comes with excellent instructions (disagree with the review below - the instructions do not need changing) with step by step instructions and photographs. The kit is simple to install and fitted within 30 minutes. The coach bolts sheer off nut snaps off once you tighten the bolts up from inside. I agree that the tongue and groves panels do compress a small amount when you tighten up the bolts but this insignificant on the grounds that you take comfort knowing the shackle is going nowhere in a hurry. Unfortunately due to the design of my shed I was unable to fit the horizontal brace to prevent side attacks however I feel even without this you would be hard pushed to remove this shackle even with crow bars and Arnold behind it. You will require some serious kit to break this and short of craning the shed away I fail to see any scumbag getting their hands on my machines in a hurry. I'm sleeping well tonight. If you're dithering about purchasing this then don't! Buy it now - you will not regret it. Well done Pragmasis! I definitely recommend this to anyone looking to improve security. Best Wishes Mr A.
[Pragmasis Comment: It is usually possible to fit the side brace by biassing the whole Shackle downwards, so the brace is on the horizontal at floor level at the bottom of the wall. We are happy to advise in any awkward situations - Send us a photo and we will try to suggest the best approach.]
Great product brilliant service
- 27/11/2014
Ordered two of these to replace the two I left at my old house ,easy to fit and a bit of enhanced security for the bikes hopefully .service brilliant ordered just before lunch and arrived the next day with emails sent by pragmasis to help,
Thanks again
GREAT PRODUCT
- 08/10/2014
Was looking for something to keep my 2 bikes secure in my shed. Came across the shed shackle on this website and after reading the reviews i decided to order one. Came within 2 working days & was installed within an hour. Very easy instructions to follow & very simple to fit. Am very pleased with this product and feels very secure fitted to my shed. My bikes are now secure with 2 locks.
Excellent
- 05/10/2014
We had our shed broken into twice before and bikes stolen, we knew that after time, we'd be targeted again.

I installed two shed shackles and used 2 2m chains to secure 4 bikes. We also increased the security of our shed with better hinges, locks and construction methods.

As expected, we were broken into again. The thieves eventually got into our wooden shed by completely destroying the front door. They then spent a couple of minutes trying to pry off the shed shackle but gave up as they were getting nowhere. Thankfully they left empty handed.

The shackle and chain combo has stood up to the ultimate test and passed with flying colours!
Great item - easy to install
- 30/09/2014
Very quick to install and appears to be extremely solid. Instructions were very clear and service was excellent.
Excellent product and excellent service
- 29/08/2014
This is an excellent product which I have installed in a wooden shed. It is very simple to install. Pragmasis are an excellent company to deal with and offered me a lot of advice before I made my purchase. Thanks.
Excellent - and so easy to install!
- 04/08/2014
I've just installed the Shed Shackle in my metal shed at the side of our house. I was amazed at how simple it was to fit, as I'm no DIY person. The most reassuring thing about it is the fact that it would be so difficult/awkward for and thief to try and break or remove, they would surely give up before trying. I also purchased a lock and chain package, which, when installed with the shackle makes a very strong, safe way to secure your bike. The whole lot only cost just over £150, which, when compared to the cost of the bike, is a bargain. Many thanks.
Great service
- 03/06/2014
I reckon that the service I received buying the shed shackle was probably the best service ever. Very easy to fit and the instructions were the most comprehensive Ive ever come across. I wish the shed I bought had instructions like these.
I have the 2m chain and padlock with it and boy are my bikes secure now.
I am extremely pleased with it.
Shed Shackle for Wooden Shed
- 12/05/2014
1st off - great delivery, just a few days including weekend!
Shackle does seem bomb-proof - just hope the shed can live up to it!
Fitted very quickly having read the very comprehensive instructions. Only 2 minor issues - 1st, the bolts didn't seem to want to shear so had to resort to giving them a helping hand with the hacksaw. 2nd (& related) as the bolts tightened it caused the soft tongue & groove to become overly compressed with a few little splits which would cause potential weather ingress (resolved by filling with silicone!). Both these things mentioned in the instructions and in no way causes me any concern. I bought the 11mm chain and thought 1.5m would be sufficient. In fact, 2m would have been better as the 1.5m chain is a tad too short to go through frame & both wheels. Will just have to use my D-Lock on the front wheel. Overall, very happy!
SHedshackle
- 30/04/2014
bought two of these after getting a new shed.

use these to secure 5 bikes and they were very easy to fit following the clear instructions.

very happy with the security provided. excellent product.
Excellent Product
- 28/04/2014
Fitted to a a metal shed. This is an excellent product, easy to fit and will hopefully stand the test of time.
Definitely a 2 person job, so one word of caution would be to ensure your helper understands how the shear-nuts work and has them the correct way round!
As secure as what you fit it to.
- 17/04/2014
I fitted my shackle today. Firstly I think the instructions make it seems more complex than what it really is. You need to simplify the guide as it made it more confusing. The shackle itself is made very well and I am really pleased - It was quite difficult tightening the two bolts nearest the shackle part due to the blobs there where its fixed to the steel strips. This is the only reason it lost a mark - It added masses of installation time. Getting it on the shed and all bolts loose took me about 20 minutes - Tightening them all until the nut heads sheared took 30 - A bit longer than it should have!

Overall I would definitely recommend it, it is an excellent product, but I am going to put in a floor shackle too just in case - A thief could just crowbar off the shackle from the shed and take the whole lot, if they were really determined.

[Pragmasis Comment: We've tried to trace this customer to get more information as nobody else has ever reported issues with the instructions or with the 'blobs' (rivet heads??) during installation. We also disagree with the comment about a crowbar as the product, when properly installed, has a side brace that is there expressly to stop crowbar and similar twisting attacks. The Shed Shackle is fixed in place with 8 bolts and we (and Sold Secure and the Police) don't consider a crowbar attack to be viable for a thief, especially when there is a bike in the way.]
Easy to fit and rock solid.
- 17/03/2014
I've just bought my second Shed Shackle following the purchase of two new bikes. The Shed Shackle is easy to fit even for a walking DIY disaster area like myself.

It's configurable in a number of ways so you will be able to fit it to almost any shed or storage box.

The instructions are clear and concise. The construction is rock solid and inspires confidence in your chose security system.
Another great product
- 15/03/2014
after moving house and having to leave my Torc Ground Anchor firmly embedded in the garage in our old place, this time as I only had a wooden shed, albeit a good quality one from EasyShed, I went with the Shed Shackle.

Easy to fit, feels and looks secure, i imagine it would put any would be thief off even having a go!
I bought the package deal which included a 11mm chain and Squire padlock. Good value for peace of mind.
Highly recommended and the customer service is second to none.
Fantastic
- 23/02/2014
Had three mountain bikes stolen out of my shed recently. Am now beefing up security to Stalag Luft 3 proportions! Searched the internet and found the shed shackle. Wow....this thing is awesome. Simple, high quality British Engineering at it best. Was a doddle to fit (40 mins)and feels totally secure. Thief is going to have to take half the shed wall if they want to have another go. About to invest in the 13mm chain and lock to go with it.
As with other posts customer service has been outstanding.
A very comprehensive kit
- 22/02/2014
Like many others I spent a while researching various shed security options before choosing the Shed Shackle, being reassured by the attention to detail provided by Pragmasis.

The instructions are very comprehensive and the addition of a suitable drill bit was very much appreciated. The Shed Shackle was fitted to a brand new shed along with other security measures and I'm extremely happy with the end result.

As others have said I hope the Shed Shackle is never put to the test but I can sleep soundly knowing it will deter most would-be thieves!
Essential when a ground anchor is not possible
- 06/02/2014
Like many, I can't fit a ground anchor in my shed, so after a lot of research only one product was at the top of the list as the next best thing.
I'm not the best at DIY, however even for me, fitting it was a doddle. The drill bit is supplied, and the instructions were very clear.

Make sure you fit it in the correct place, as you won't get it off after it's fitted!
It feels very secure, but I hope it's never put to the test!!
Excellent Product
- 02/01/2014
I placed the order just before Christmas and it arrived the following morning - excellent service during a busy period. From opening the package of Shed Shackle, 11mm chain and lock it is obvious that it is a quality product. The well thought out Shed Shackle is modular and can easily be adapted to many situations. Fitting was very straightforward and took just over 30 mins. If you find, as I did, that the bolt digs in a bit too much into the wood before the shear nut fails, a couple of nicks with a junior hacksaw should do the trick.
Just the job
- 10/11/2013
My main concern when building a bike shed was how to secure the bikes inside, having read all the nightmare stories the web seems to be full of. Am happy to say the folks at Pragmasis have a real winner on their hands with the shed shackle; easy to fit, sturdy as hell (I did take a crow bar to it to test it) and great customer service (thank you Stephen, your help and advice was invaluable) It is a 5 star product, along with the chain and lock, I feel confident in leaving the bikes in the shed. I'll update should it have to repel an attack with the outcome.
C
Shed Shackle Package
- 01/10/2013
Just installed a Shed Shackle in my...well in my shed. It was easy to fit with no missing parts, MFI take note! The instructions even told me when not to have a cup of tea, simple. When buying (I bought a 4m chain and padlock as well) I had to look away when I hit the purchase button, it is expensive but boy is it good. You get what you pay for. I now can sleep at night knowing my bikes are protected. I'll let you know how it copes should the need arise. Thank you.
shed shackle
- 25/09/2013
great service and great product.
easy to install, very safe and secure. a must for bike security
Peace of mind using shed shackle
- 01/09/2013
The shed shackle is excellent. I've installed it in my wooden 6ftx4ft wooden shed and used a 3.5m long 13mm chain and lock to secure 4 bikes. It was straightforward to install and only took 30mins (I've also followed advice on this website and put coach bolts in to door hinges etc to make it harder to take the doors off). The set up means it is very easy for myself or children to get the bikes out and put them back. The products from Pragmasis are of very high quality and the service was professional. Well worth buying as they will last a long time and have given us peace of mind with bike shed in the front garden.
As easy as promised
- 23/07/2013
We ordered the bundle with the 11mm Protector chain and the Squire SS50P5. We're very pleased with all the items. A colleague commented he uses the lock for his motorbikes!

Installation was dead easy. We were fitting to a brand new shed which wasn't yet assembled. The logistics made it easier to fit the shed shackle to the back panel before assembling the shed but the instructions apply just as well and we were done in about 40 minutes.

We're really happy and can't imagine anyone's going to be able to get through the shackle, chain or lock.
Great product
- 21/06/2013
The Shed Shackle is a well thought out device for those without a secure building to keep their electric and other expensive bikes safe. Until recently I was compelled to keep my electric bike in my hallway with all the inconveniences that that entailed, like manoeuvring it through my kitchen whenever I wanted to use the bike. Well now with the shed shackle in place and a secure chain and lock, I can now more easily get my bike on the road. The Shed Shackle itself, together with the 16mm toughened chain and the secure padlock (I had with a previous bike), are well thought out pieces of equipment, that will I am sure deter the thief armed with bolt cutters. It must be said that no system is 100 percent secure but the Pragmasis solutions at least provide me with an excellently engineered security product. Not only that but the Security for Bikes.com website has many interesting products on it, and their service is second to none.
Shed Shackle
- 24/04/2013
Very easy to fit, less than 30 minutes, though this is the second one I have fitted. Will have to take the side of the shed out in order to remove it! Only as strong as the chain used to secure items so ensure this is as robust as possible.

 

Buy Online

Content